Watch the Michel Gondry-directed animated video for ‘Model Village’ by Idles

Scroll this
Idles, 2020. CREDIT: Tom Ham/Press

British post-punks Idles have unveiled a new track from their forthcoming third album ‘Ultra Mono’.

The follow-up to 2018’s acclaimed ‘Joy As An Act Of Resistance’ will be released on September 25 via Partisan, and has so far been previewed with ‘Mr. Motivator’‘Grounds’ and ‘A Hymn.

Now, the Bristol band have offered up another taste of the record alongside an animated video from Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind director Michel Gondry (who has previously been involved with projects for the likes of Radiohead, The White Stripes and Daft Punk) – created in collaboration with WePresent, WeTransfer’s editorial platform.

Watch the full video below:

Frontman Joe Talbot says of the song: “I hated growing up in a city that was really a town that was really a fishbowl. I left as soon as I could, only to realise the fishbowl didn’t exist…just the fish, and they’re everywhere.”

Gondry explains, “Olivier and I were excited to work on this because we use completely opposite techniques. I work with a primitive system of cutting paper and moving it under the lens frame by frame. Olivier then transforms it by morphing, warping and CGI. Basically, in the first part we try to illustrate the lyrics as close as possible, to create the world, and then in the second half…they go to the moon.”

Ahead of release, IDLES are hosting a series of three live performances from Abbey Road on Aug 29 & 30, which will be professionally recorded, filmed, and livestreamed. Tickets on sale now, more info and link to purchase HERE. The band has also just announced the (each completely unique) setlist for each performance, which is available HERE.

Produced by Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire) and Adam ‘Atom’ Greenspan (Anna Calvi, Cut Copy), ‘Ultra Mono’ was sonically constructed to capture the feeling of a hip-hop record. The album also features guest vocals from Savages singer Jehnny Beth and additional guest contributions from Warren Ellis (Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds), David Yow, & Jamie Cullum.

Share this :

Submit a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.